Modern Languages Series

Foundations, Breakthrough and Mastering modern languages

by Palgrave Macmillan

About the series

If you want to be able to understand, speak, read and write Arabic or Chinese with confidence, look no further than the Mastering series. The best-selling Mastering Arabic collection now comes with a great companion website. With online resources ranging from PowerPoint presentations and printable A4 exercises to useful links and web pages this website is a great tool for teachers, lecturers and at-home learners.

The Foundations series is designed for institution-wide language courses (IWLPs) and tutors in higher education, or similar.

The Breakthrough series is perfect for those who love languages and is easily adaptable for both learning in adult education classes or studying alone. The new edition of Foundations German 1 is now available with audio CDs.

The Foundations series includes

  • Spanish beginner (Level 1)
  • Spanish post-beginner (Level 2)
  • Italian beginner (Level 1)
  • Italian post-beginner (Level 2)
  • French beginner (Level 1)
  • French intermediate (Level 2)
  • German beginner (Level 1)

You can download all the MP3 versions of the audio lessons which accompany the foundations series books in our resources bank here.

The Breakthrough series includes

  • Spanish beginner (Level 1)
  • Spanish post-beginner (Level 2)
  • Italian beginner
  • French beginner (Level 1)
  • French post-beginner (Level 2)
  • French intermediate (Level 3)
  • Chinese beginner (Level 1)
Tutors can download the tapescripts for the audio lessons which accompany these breakthrough texts here.

The Mastering series includes

  • Mastering Chinese (the complete course for beginners)
  • Mastering Arabic 1
  • Mastering Arabic 2
  • Mastering Arabic Grammar
  • Mastering Arabic Script
  • Mastering Spanish