XWe have detected your location as outside the U.S/Canada, if you think this is wrong, you can choose your location.

Macmillan Higher Education


Continue Shopping
All prices are shown excluding Tax
The submitted promocode is invalid
Discount code already used. It can only be used once.
* Applied promocode: ×

Please be advised Covid-19 shipping restrictions may apply. Please review prior to ordering and if you are affected select the ebook version instead.

Important information on your ebook order

Important information on your access card order

Important Notice

Sapling can only be accessed if your instructor has set up a course at your University. Please only buy this code if your instructor has an active Sapling course.

Important Notice

This product should only be purchased by International students at University of Illinois.

COVID-19: Support for professors and students affected by Coronavirus. Learn more

Special 30% Discount for Economics for the Curious

As the economics field celebrates Jean Tirole, the winner of The Sveriges Riksbank Prize in Economic Sciences in Memory of Alfred Nobel 2014, we would like to extend a special limited time discount* for our acclaimed book Economics for the Curious.

* To receive this discount, please use promo code PM14THIRTY upon checkout. This discount expired December 31, 2014.

Alfred Marshall, the founder of modern economics, once described economics as 'the study of mankind in the ordinary business of earning a living'. In Economics for the Curious, 12 Nobel Laureates show that 'the ordinary business of earning a living' covers a wide range of activities, as they take readers on an engaging tour of some of the everyday issues that can be explored using basic economic principles.

Written in the plainest possible language, Nobel Laureates including Paul Krugman, Eric Maskin, Finn E. Kydland and Vernon Smith confront some of the key issues challenging society today – challenges that claim attention in any phase of the business cycle. The range of topics includes how economic tools can be used to rebuild nations in the aftermath of a war; financing retirement as longevity increases; the sustainable use of natural resources and what governments should really be doing to boost the economy.

Nobel Prize winning contributors include:

  • Paul Krugman

  • Vernon L. Smith

  • Peter Diamond

  • Dale T. Mortensen

  • Michael Spence

  • Finn E. Kydland

  • Robert Solow

  • John F. Nash, Jr

  • Oliver E. Williamson

  • William F. Sharpe

  • Eric Maskin

  • Roger Myerson

Stay informed