XWe have detected your location as outside the U.S/Canada, if you think this is wrong, you can choose your location.

Macmillan Higher Education


Continue Shopping
All prices are shown excluding Tax
The submitted promocode is invalid
Discount code already used. It can only be used once.
* Applied promocode: ×

Due to COVID-19, physical book delivery is currently not possible to China, Djibouti, French Polynesia, Hong Kong, Kuwait, Lebanon, Libya, Macao, Maldives, Morocco, Moldova, Mongolia, Philippines, Somalia, Sri Lanka and Tunisia. If you are affected please select an ebook version instead. Apologies for the inconvenience.

Important information on your ebook order

Important information on your access card order

COVID-19: Support for professors and students affected by Coronavirus. Learn more

Complete Chronology of Shakespeare's Works

Plus Plot Summaries & RSC Staging History 1690-2007

Staging Histories : A Key
1589-91 Arden of Faversham (possible part authorship)
1589-92 The Taming of the Shrew
1591 The Second Part of Henry the Sixth, originally called The First Part of the Contention betwixt the Two Famous Houses of York and Lancaster (element of co-authorship possible)
1591 The Third Part of Henry the Sixth, originally called The True Tragedy of Richard Duke of York (element of co-authorship probable)
1591-2 The Two Gentlemen of Verona
1591-2/ perhaps revised 1594 The Lamentable Tragedy of Titus Andronicus (probably co-written with, or revising an earlier version by, George Peele)
1592 The First Part of Henry the Sixth, probably with Thomas Nashe and others
1592 / 1594 King Richard the Third
1593 Venus and Adonis (poem)
1593-94 The Rape of Lucrece (poem)
1593-1608 Sonnets (154 poems, published 1609 with A Lover's Complaint, a poem of disputed authorship)
1592-94 / 1600-1603 Sir Thomas More (a single scene for a play originally by Anthony Munday, with other revisions by Henry Chettle, Thomas Dekker and Thomas Heywood)
1594 The Comedy of Errors
1595 Love's Labour's Lost
1595-97 Love's Labour's Won (a lost play, unless the original title for another comedy)
1595-96 A Midsummer Night's Dream
1595-96 The Tragedy of Romeo and Juliet
1595-96 King Richard the Second
1595-97 The Life and Death of King John (possibly earlier)
1596-97 The Merchant of Venice
1596-97 The First Part of Henry the Fourth
1597-98 The Second Part of Henry the Fourth
1598 Much Ado about Nothing
1598-99 The Passionate Pilgrim (20 poems, some not by Shakespeare)
1599 The Life of Henry the Fifth
1599 'To the Queen' (epilogue for a court performance)
1599 As You Like It
1599 The Tragedy of Julius Caesar
1600-01 The Tragedy of Hamlet, Prince of Denmark (perhaps revising an earlier version)
1600-01 The Merry Wives of Windsor (perhaps revising version of 1597-9)
1601 'Let the Bird of Loudest Lay' (poem, known since 1807 as 'The Phoenix and Turtle' (turtle-dove))
1601 Twelfth Night, or What You Will
1601-02 The Tragedy of Troilus and Cressida
1604 The Tragedy of Othello, the Moor of Venice
1604 Measure for Measure
1605 All's Well that Ends Well
1605 The Life of Timon of Athens, with Thomas Middleton
1605-06 The Tragedy of King Lear
1605-08 contribution to The Four Plays in One (lost, except for A Yorkshire Tragedy, mostly by Thomas Middleton)
1606 The Tragedy of Macbeth (surviving text has additional scenes by Thomas Middleton)
1606-07 The Tragedy of Antony and Cleopatra
1608 The Tragedy of Coriolanus
1608 Pericles, Prince of Tyre, with George Wilkins
1610 The Tragedy of Cymbeline
1611 The Winter's Tale
1611 The Tempest
1612-13 Cardenio, with John Fletcher (survives only in later adaptation called Double Falsehood by Lewis Theobald)
1613 Henry VIII (All is True), with John Fletcher
1613-14 The Two Noble Kinsmen, with John Fletcher
As You Like It
As You Like It
Aldwych, 1961

A Midsummer Nights Dream
A Midsummer Night's Dream
Royal Shakespeare Theatre, 1970

Taming of the Shrew
The Taming of the Shrew
Aldwych, 1978

Henry V
Henry V
Barbican, 1984

Romeo and Juliet
Romeo and Juliet
Royal Shakespeare Theatre, 2000